中美项目介绍

中美项目介绍

乔治城大学美中全球议题对话项目(以下简称“项目”)是一个专注于研究、教学与高端对话的高校平台。该平台致力促进美中政界、社会、商界以及学术界领袖就国际社会所面临的共同挑战展开讨论。

中美关系正处于关键时期。美国仍是世界头号强国,而中国的经济实力与影响力与日俱增。两国关系对全球治理的发展与世界和平的前景具有决定性的影响。  世界局势和深层的政治及意识形态领域的分歧赋予了美中之间的结构性对话至关重要的意义。此类对话并不旨在达成共识,而是致力于阐明双方共同关心的领域,推动合作。

与现有多数推动美中对话的努力不同,此项目并不局限于关注双边关系,而是着眼于全球和各国之间更广泛的议题。不可避免的国家及民族差异,为共同探索解决诸如和平,经济与社会发展,环境可持续发展等全球性问题提供了很大的发展空间。这是项目开展的基础与前提。 

项目的核心活动包括以下内容:各界领袖间的高层对话、由美中著名专家学者组成的关键议题研究小组、以及连接乔治城大学师生与中国高校师生的课程及课外活动。    

项目依托乔治城大学的核心优势——卓越的学术成就、华盛顿特区的优越地理位置、以及服务世界的天主教耶稣会使命。    

乔治城大学深厚的学术底蕴,结合了各学术领域和各学院与中国相关的师资,以及一系列研究国际问题的中心、倡议和项目。 

乔治城大学坐落在华盛顿特区,其优越的地理位置为召集美中学者、政要、公民、以及其他国家和国际组织的代表探讨关键的全球性问题提供了无可比拟的机会。      

作为一所致力于服务世界的耶稣会学府,乔治城大学继承了利玛窦神父(1552-1610年)的传统。利玛窦神父对中国语言、哲学和风俗的深沉敬意为跨文化交流树立了典范。 

作为就美中关系争议性问题对话的独立召集人,为维持其信誉和效力,项目的工作将围绕以下四个核心原则组织实施:独立、透明、均衡和学术卓越。    

项目为乔治城大学校级项目,由各学院、研究中心及各学科项目合作进行。主管全球事务的副校长及其领导的、由跨学科教授组成的委员会负责监督项目的运营。 

项目的成立得益于春风基金会(Spring Breeze Foundation)一千万美金的捐赠。正大集团(又称卜蜂集团,CP Group)为该基金会提供支持。正大集团为世界最大的农业及食品企业之一,其业务范围也涵盖电信、零售、金融及制药等行业。    

点击这里阅读乔治城大学2016年一月就此捐赠的公告,或访问此页面了解乔治城与中国的往来。

back to top

About the U.S.-China Initiative

About the U.S.-China Initiative

The Georgetown Initiative for U.S.-China Dialogue on Global Issues is a university platform for research, teaching, and high-level dialogue among American and Chinese leaders from the public sector, business, society and the academy that addresses common challenges facing the global community.

Ties between China and the United States are at a critical juncture. The United States remains the world’s leading power, while China’s wealth and influence continue to expand. The relationship between both countries will have a decisive impact on the evolution of global governance and prospects for world peace.

Both the state of the world and deep political and ideological divides make structured dialogue between the United States and China vitally important—not to reach consensus, but to clarify areas of mutual interest and to facilitate cooperation.

Unlike most existing efforts to advance U.S.-China dialogue, the initiative focuses less on bilateral relations than on global and transnational issues. It is premised on the view that despite inevitable national differences, there remains considerable room for the cultivation of shared approaches to questions including climate change, global health, business and trade, peace and security, and economic and social development around the globe. 

Core initiative activities include: high-level public dialogues with leaders across sectors; research groups that bring together leading U.S. and Chinese scholars around critical issues; and curricular and co-curricular collaboration that connects Georgetown faculty and students with colleagues at Chinese universities. 

The initiative builds on Georgetown’s core strengths: academic excellence, location in Washington, D.C., and Catholic and Jesuit mission of service to the world. 

Georgetown’s academic profile combines faculty expertise on China across disciplines and schools with a range of centers, initiatives, and programs that address global issues of critical importance to U.S.-China relations. 

The university’s location in Washington, D.C. provides unparalleled opportunities to convene U.S. and Chinese scholars, officials, and citizens, as well as representatives of other countries and international organizations, around critical global issues. 

As a Jesuit institution committed to service to the world, Georgetown is heir to the legacy of Fr. Matteo Ricci, S.J. (1552-1610), a missionary whose deep respect for Chinese language, philosophy, and customs created a model for intercultural encounter. 

In order to maintain its credibility and effectiveness as an independent convener around contested issues in U.S.-China relations, the initiative is organized around four core principles: independence, transparency, balance, and academic excellence. 

The initiative is organized at the university level as a collaboration among Georgetown schools, centers, and programs. The vice president for global engagement chairs an interdisciplinary faculty committee that oversees initiative operations. 

The initiative is made possible by a $10 million gift from the Hong Kong-based Spring Breeze Foundation. The foundation is supported by the CP Group, one of world's largest agribusiness and food companies that is also active in telecommunications, retail, finance, and pharmaceuticals.

You can find information about the January 2016 gift announcement here.  To learn more about Georgetown's history of engagement with China please visit here.