Skip to 美中全球议题对话项目 Full Site Menu Skip to main content
August 26, 2019

乔治城大学研究生探寻中国的未来

今年夏天,乔治城大学的11名研究生获得了一次难得的去中国游学的机会。在为期十天的游学中,他们对中国的经济前景有了更清晰的认识。此次活动的主题是中国四十年改革开放历程。

乔治城研究生在贵阳大数据中心前
乔治城研究生在贵阳大数据中心前

学生们访问了北京、贵阳和深圳,通过参观尖端科技公司(比如位于贵阳的中国大数据中心和处在全球5G技术舆论漩涡中心的深圳华为公司),学生们对中国的过去和未来有了更深刻的了解。

First-Hand Exposure to the High Stakes in U.S.-China Relations

在中美两国的贸易摩擦和经济冲突加剧的背景下,此行适时地提醒了我们双方如无法和平解决贸易战将面临的危机。在北京,学生们访问了外交部、国家发展改革委员会、国务院发展研究中心等与中国改革开放及快速发展息息相关的政府机构。在与相关人员的座谈中,学生们也借此机会就中国对特朗普政府加征关税的行动和回应提出了一些棘手的问题。

学生们还和中国军事科学院高级顾问、中国人民解放军退役少将姚云竹进行了深入对话。作为中国为数不多的女将军,姚云竹少将对比了现今与过去四十年的中美两国关系,并向学生坦率地讲述了她的看法。学生们还聆听了清华-卡内基全球政策中心学者赵通关于现阶段中美关系的看法及他对两国关系未来走向的预测。许多学生非常喜欢和赵通博士的坦诚对话。乔治城大学拉丁美洲研究项目研究生Rocio Ortega说

“这次游学之旅的亮点之一是赵博士对他的战略安全问题研究的介绍,包括核武器战略、军备控制和其他国际安全问题。他很好地将中美两国之间的长期不信任概括于‘双方互不了解,我们需要更多地意识到双方认知的鸿沟’。这些观点使我看到与此次游学的意义所在。”

游学之旅的第二站是位于中国西南部的贵州省省会贵阳。贵阳有着丰富的自然资源,并且是国际大数据创新的新兴中心。学生们参观了贵阳大数据中心,并了解了中国的大数据公司如何在企业、政府和社会的各个方面应用大数据技术。 乔治城外交学院研究生Brody Weinrich谈到

“贵州是中国较偏远贫穷、以农村为主的省份代表,它正在开展一项可以使数百万中国公民受惠的宏伟计划。此外,由于我对大数据的了解很少,在参观大数据中心时,我对他们先进的技术感到非常惊异。这次活动使我不仅了解了大数据的可能性,而且了解贵阳成为大数据之都的原因,本次游学不虚此行。”

此行的最后一站是深圳,那里坐落着一些中国规模最大的科技公司。学生们来到了平安金融中心,也是世界第四高的建筑。在那里可以一览深圳市区的广阔繁华。之后,学生们参观了华为总部园区、了解了有关公司在5G技术发展所作出的努力。在参观展厅之后,学生们体验了包括智能手机、城市范围内的Wi-Fi天线和虚拟现实(VR)设备在内的最新5G技术,并与公司代表座谈,讨论华为的未来发展计划以及对全球网络安全未来的担忧。外交学院学生Peter Lee说

“考虑到中美两国的贸易战,华为是我们此次游行的绝佳选择。具体来说,我很高兴能与华为的公共政策团队交流,以及他们如何看待美国对他们的批评。华为团队认为,尽管国际社会对华为充当中国政治和贸易博弈棋子的角色表示担忧,但华为将专注于成为出色的制造商和电信公司。这次会议富有成果,使我了解了华为在增加国内外品牌影响力方面所做出的努力。”

乔治城学生在贵阳练习书法
乔治城学生在贵阳练习书法

真理至上

尽管这些研究生来自不同的教育背景,并且对中国的了解程度不一,但他们都对中国的复杂性和年轻一代在21世纪的中美关系中所承担的责任有了更深入的了解。对于经济学专业的学生来讲,​​这次经历使他们加深了中国在过去四十年内如何实现经济方面的巨大转型、对于两位数GDP增长率已成为历史的挑战,以及数字革命如何再次快速地转变中国等问题的理解;对于国际关系专业的学生来说,​​他们对中国在世界秩序中所持有的立场及中国政府在以国有企业为主的混合经济模式中所面临的来自美国等国的压力有了更深刻的认知。经济学专业学生Nicholas Osbourne谈到自己的游学经历时说

“总体而言,这次由中美交流基金会(CUSEF)和乔治城大学美中全球议题对话项目组织的中国游学之旅为我了解当今中国及中美关系提供了独特的实践经验。我很幸运能够成为今年出色的学生群体一员,也非常感谢这次能够使我提问并向同龄人学习的机会。”

阅读更多关于中美交流基金会2019中国游学项目学生体验的报道。

相关新闻

Skip to Initiative for U.S.-China Dialogue on Global Issues Full Site Menu Skip to main content
August 26, 2019

Georgetown Graduate Students Explore China's Future

Eleven Georgetown graduate students took the unique opportunity this summer to get a glimpse of China’s economic future during a 10-day study tour. The theme of the study tour was China’s 40 years of “Reform and Opening Up”.

Georgetown Graduate Students in Front of the Guiyang Big Data Exhibition Center.
Georgetown Graduate Students in Front of the Guiyang Big Data Exhibition Center.

The visits to Beijing, Guiyang, and Shenzhen taught the students about China’s past as well as its future through visits to cutting edge facilities like China’s big data center in Guiyang and Huawei Corporation in Shenzhen, the Chinese company at the center of the global 5G controversy.

First-Hand Exposure to the High Stakes in U.S.-China Relations

Amidst rising trade tensions and increased economic conflict between the United States and China, this trip came as a timely reminder of what is at stake if both sides are unable to peacefully resolve the trade war. In Beijing, the students were briefed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the National Development Reform Commission, and the Development Research Center, on various dimensions of China’s economic reform and rapid development. The students took the opportunity to ask some tough questions about China’s actions and responses to tariffs imposed by the Trump administration.

The students also had an in-depth dialogue with retired Major General Yao Yunzhun of the People’s Liberation Army (PLA). General Yao, a 46-year veteran of the PLA and one of only a handful of female generals in China, gave candid feedback to the students on her perceptions of U.S.-China relations today compared to what she witnessed over the past 40 years. They also heard from a scholar, Dr. Tong Zhao of the Carnegie-Tsinghua Center for Global Policy, on the current status of the U.S.-China relationship, and his predictions for the future. Many students enjoyed the frank discussion with Dr. Zhao, Rocio Ortega, a Latin American studies graduate student at Georgetown, said,

“One of the highlights of the trip was having the opportunity to listen to Dr. Zhao whose research focuses on strategic security issues, including nuclear weapons strategy, arms control, and other international security issues. …. He best summarizes the ongoing mistrust between our two countries as ‘both sides do not understand each other and we need to raise awareness on deep perception gaps’ - all which made this exchange student trip the more relevant and ahead of the game.”

The second stop was Guiyang, the capital of Guizhou province in southwest China. Guiyang is rich in natural resources and an up-and-coming center for international big data innovation. They toured the Guiyang Big Data Center and learned how big data companies in China are harnessing data in different ways for use across all aspects of business, government, and society. Georgetown SFS graduate student Brody Weinrich noted,

“Guiyang represents a grand vision for one of China’s poorer, more rural provinces and an ambitious project which could help millions of Chinese citizens. Furthermore, touring the big data exhibition center left my jaw dropped, as I had little prior knowledge of big data. Learning not only about big data’s possibilities but also the rationale for trying to make Guiyang a big data capital proved fascinating.”

The final leg of the trip took the students to Shenzhen, home to some of the biggest tech companies in China. The students toured the Ping An Finance Centre, the fourth tallest building in the world, where they took in views of the sprawling metropolis. They also visited the Huawei headquarters campus to learn more about the company’s 5G efforts. The students met with company representatives to discuss Huawei’s plans for future development and concerns over the future of global cyber security. After viewing the exhibition floor, where the students saw the latest in 5G technology including smartphones, city-wide Wi-Fi antennas, and virtual reality gear, they participated in a question and answer session with Huawei representatives. Peter Lee, a School of Foreign Service student, remarked that,

“Considering U.S. trade war with China, Huawei was an amazing choice to include in our trip. Specifically, I was excited to engage with Huawei’s Public Policy Team and how they perceived the United States’ constant criticisms towards them. They insisted on how Huawei is focused on maintaining its sole focus on being a manufacturer and telecom company despite international concerns on their role as a Chinese political and trade pawn. The meeting was a fruitful one and I learned how Huawei is making efforts in becoming a more formidable company in the domestic and international markets.”

Georgetown Students Practicing Their Chinese Caligraphy in Guiyang.
Georgetown Students Practicing Their Chinese Caligraphy in Guiyang.

Nothing Beats Gaining Ground on Truth

Although the graduate students came from a variety of educational backgrounds and differing levels of involvement with China, they all came away with a deeper understanding of the complexity of China and the stakes for their generation in the U.S.-China relationship of the 21st century. For the economics majors, they deepened their understanding of the amazing transformation of China’s economy in the past 40 years, the challenges of today as the double-digit rates of GDP become a thing of the past, and also how a digital revolution is rapidly transforming China again. For the international relations majors, they found a deeper understanding of China’s perspective on the international world order and the pressures that Beijing is feeling from the United States and other countries over its choice of a mixed economy where state-owned enterprises remain critical players. Economics student Nicholas Osbourne had this to say about his experience on the trip.

“Overall, the China Study Tour provided by the Initiative for U.S.-China Dialogue on Global Issues and CUSEF offers a unique hands-on experience of China today and its relation to the United States. I am very fortunate to have been a part of this year’s amazing group of students, and I am very grateful for being able to ask my own questions and learn from my peers.”

Read more about the students’ experiences in their CUSEF 2019 China Study Tour trip reports.

Related News